Saugus votes Obama but backs Brown in election

By Matthew M. Robare


Barack Obama was reelected President of the United States Tuesday night, defeating former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney, with Democrats retaining control of the Senate and Republicans keeping the House of Representatives. Obama won Massachusetts with 61% of the vote. In Saugus, according to unofficial totals provided by the Town Clerk’s office, Obama received 6,957 votes to Romney’s 6,557. Libertarian Gary Johnson received 111 votes and Green Party candidate Jill Stein received 31.

Harvard Law School Professor Elizabeth Warren defeated incumbent Republican Senator Scott Brown, taking 54% of the vote statewide. In Saugus, Brown beat Warren with 7,769 votes to 5,871.

Early returns showed former state senator and 2010 Republican candidate for Lt. Gov. Richard Tisei beating incumbent Congressman John Tierney, but by the end of the night the incumbent had squeezed out a narrow victory, taking 48% of the vote to Tisei’s 47%. Libertarian Daniel Fishman won a better-than-expected four%.

Tisei released a concession statement on his campaign website congratulating Tierney. “This has been a long, hard-fought battle and I believe the voters deserve better representation in Washington. That’s why I ran,” Tisei wrote. “I’m proud of our effort to bring change to Washington… there is no substitute for citizen involvement in trying to build a better country.”

Democratic incumbent Thomas McGee was reelected to the state senate and Republican Donald Wong was reelected to the state house, as was Democrat Kathi-Anne Reinstein. Incumbent Peter Rossetti, Jr. was reelected to the Northeast Metro Tech School Committee with 7,602 votes to 2,515 for Arthur Grabowski.

Leave a Reply